Hello World, Indeed

Two days ago I graduated from Carleton College.

The last four years have included the best and worst times of my life, so obviously I approached graduation with mixed emotions. When I thought about life after Carleton, it was usually focused on a yearning for free time. Imagine all the books I could read and projects I could do if I wasn’t always doing work. What I didn’t think was about saying goodbye to many wonderful people or leaving behind the predictability of ten week terms.

So, as I have done for much of my life, I’m finding comfort in a project. A blog is not the most groundbreaking idea, but it’s something I’ve been wanting to try. The decision to start a blog came after watching Julie & Julia on Netflix. (I realize that most people leave that movie wanting to cook, but I much prefer the computer over the kitchen.) Much to the disappointment of Julia Child, blogging was added to the post-graduation to-do list, not mastering the art of French cooking.

My intention for this blog is a mixture of pop culture and personal anecdotes. I realize that the pop culture side won’t appeal to certain potential readers (hi, Grandma!), but there are few things I like more than waxing nostalgic about American Girl books or dissecting the new Jennifer Lopez video. I’m sure that the direction of the blog will change over time, but these dual purposes are my starting point.

Much to my relief, the future promises some anecdote-worthy material. I’m thrilled to announce that today I was offered a job by the Minnesota Reading Corps. I will be working as a literacy tutor at an elementary school in south Minneapolis. So stay tuned for cute kid stories, pop culture commentary, and more!

7 Comments

Filed under Real Life

7 responses to “Hello World, Indeed

  1. Ken Carpenter

    Courtney,
    I enjoyed your blog-great idea. I can see your education in what you have written.
    Everything was very “coherent”. (Clever title) Grandma and I will continue to follow your writings.
    Love you,
    Grandpa K.

  2. Ayse

    Yay!!!!! Congrats on getting the job! Also on the blog of course:)

  3. Amanda

    This is so awesome Courtney! I will enjoy reading your blog and what is going on in the life of Courtney Wipf! Congratulations on the job!

  4. LJS

    I’m excited to read this and see what you have to say! Congrats on finishing school and finding a job. If you are in the area give me a call and we can catch up.

  5. Pingback: 100 Posts and Counting | Courtney Coherent

Leave a Reply

