Robyn, Make Me Dance (and Cry)

As anyone who had to put up with me during Senior Week probably already knows, Robyn is my new obsession. “Dancing On My Own” was my go-to youtube video for much of winter term, and now the “Call Your Girlfriend” video has turned my admiration into downright love. Lately so many music videos and live performances just make me feel like the artist is trying way too hard. They’re all trying to out-Gaga each other, and sometimes even Gaga herself fails. Enter Robyn, platinum-haired Swede. She is the perfect antidote to my musical fatigue because she tries just hard enough.

If the lyrics of “Call Your Girlfriend” are a turnoff, try to get past it! Yes, Robyn is instructing her new man in the best way to break up with his current girlfriend. Some of her potentially infuriating advice includes “Tell her that the only way her heart will mend / Is when she learns to love again.” Obviously if a guy said that to me, I would be tempted to throw my beverage in his face. Still, let’s consider the possibility that the lyrics are ironic, with Robyn actually taking the side of the spurned lover. Or if that doesn’t do it for you, just give her a free pass because she’s Swedish. Surely ABBA has earned them some pop music clout. I, for one, have accepted that Robyn is on the side of all things good.

Why does the “Call Your Girlfriend” video make Robyn worthy of my unswerving devotion? Her endearingly awkward dance moves are reminiscent of both Modern Dance class (“Radiate from your navels!”) and the Punching Dance, which was my method of letting off steam as an eight-year-old. She manages to look awesome and on the verge of tears at the same time. And her platform sneakers would be the envy of any girl from the Spice Girls generation.

If you find yourself clamoring for more variations of the Punching Dance, or if you’re feeling more like the spurned lover than the helpful other woman, I also highly recommend the “Dancing On My Own” video. May it warm your icy Scandinavian heart.

4 Comments

Filed under Music

4 responses to “Robyn, Make Me Dance (and Cry)

  1. Melinda

    Congrats Courtney! (For graduating, for the job, on everything really…) I look forward to seeing what you do with this blog. 🙂 Good choice with Robyn.
    -Melinda

  2. Sheila

    Her dancing was divine with the strobe lights. I wonder if she has had professional daance (you know what I’m going for here) training. Kind of does remind me of the punching dance in places. Mom

  3. Pingback: Best of 2011: Music Edition, Part 1 | Courtney Coherent

Leave a Reply

