Regression is the New Black

Yesterday marked two important summer firsts:  my first trip to the library and my first Netflix movie.

I’ve been going to the Fargo Public Library for my entire life. At this point, it feels nothing short of ritual. When they rebuilt the library from scratch a few years ago, I was afraid that the new building would dampen that feeling, but it actually made me enjoy the trips even more. The drive downtown and the quest for a parking spot are the same. The building is even oriented similarly, with the children’s section to the left as you walk in, except now the rest of the collection is housed on the beautiful second floor. Browsing through the stacks surrounded by windows larger than those found in a Medieval castle — what luxury!

I have several books waiting to be read at home, but that was beside the point. The library is all about a sense of possibility. I went in with a list of four books, despite the improbability of finishing them all in three weeks. The trip included a real moment of regression because two of my targets were children’s books recommended by Carleton friends. Luckily the shelving in the children’s section is designed for people only slightly below my height, so I didn’t feel too creepy. Maybe it’s the imminence of adulthood or the prospect of working with children, but a little regression just felt right.

Before bed I watched my first Netflix DVD of the summer. Not my first ever, mind you. I subscribed back in January when another winter term stretched before me and I felt in need of a bright spot. I kid you not when I say that it’s the best decision I’ve made in a while. In high school I loved going to the movie theater, but the tiny Northfield theater became a Culver’s during my sophomore year. (Very exciting news for certain Wisconsinites.) So Netflix finally gave me a chance to catch up on all the movies I had missed in the past few years.

Hopefully that explains why the movie I watched last night was Persepolis. I’m only four years behind, right? I’m a closet animation nerd, and this film is visually ah-maze-ing. For anyone who missed it back in 2007, it tells the story of a girl growing up in Iran during the Iranian Revolution and the Iran-Iraq war. Not for kids, obviously, but very compelling for adults. You wouldn’t think that simple black-and-white animation could be emotionally affecting, but it truly is.

Okay, enough of this kid stuff. I have to go read Howl’s Moving Castle now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Movies

Leave a Reply

