Dear Brenda Weiler

Dear Brenda Weiler,

Please put out another album. I know you’re busy doing the yoga thing, and that’s cool. I can certainly appreciate a woman who can do a headstand. And sure, in my alternate future I’m a cool downtown Fargoan who frequents your yoga studio. But I have seen you perform twice, and your voice is simply too breathtaking to be kept under wraps. It’s clear and simple and powerful. When I heard you play at the yoga studio, I got goosebumps. You and your guitar and a room full of folding chairs, and I was almost a crying mess. That’s not something that happens every day.

Today at work I listened to my “Best of Brenda” playlist and remembered what’s been missing from my musical life. Moments of Oh my god, this is exactly how I feel right now. Moments of This reminds me of exactly how I felt then. I only make “Best of” playlists for my all-time favorites artists with many albums of quality work. People like Patty Griffin and Dar Williams. And you. I don’t write blogging pleas to just anyone!

The thing is, I know you have new material. I’ve seen two shows in the last three years, and both have included new songs. Even if it’s an entire album of historical songs about the influenza epidemic, I will be foaming at the mouth to get my hands on it. Because what I realized today is that you’re a storyteller, and it doesn’t matter if the story is yours or somebody else’s. You make them come alive.

So from one Fargo girl to another, please keep making music.

Sincerely, Courtney

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “Dear Brenda Weiler

  1. Mom

    Heck Courtney, I can do a headstand! At least I used to be able to do it, no problem. Your love for Brenda shines through in your post. Very sweet. Mom

  2. I just came across this YouTube video, and I’m so excited that it exists. Half an hour of live Brenda Weiler performances and interview clips. Yes please!

Leave a Reply

