Never Fear, Cute Little Kids Are Here

I have spent the last two weeks at my service site, along with the other three MRC members assigned to the school. School doesn’t start until next week, so why are we there? Well, we need to start logging hours, for one thing. But more importantly, it’s a chance for us to get to know the building and the staff before we’re descended upon by adorable little hellions.

The first thing you need to know is that my school is awesome. The teachers have been very welcoming and excited to have us there. Of course, right now we’re just an extra pair of hands for assembling bulletin boards or making name tags. Hopefully that positive vibe can continue when we’re pulling kids out of their classes for tutoring sessions. But really, I could do without putting up another bulletin board for a while. I have ripped paper off those big colorful bolts and cut many a letter from the fancy die-cut machine. All these things appeal to my inner scrapper, but I’m ready for the main event.

Today was when our hard work started to pay off. There was a back-to-school open house for families, and we were there in our MRC T-shirts and polos. The empty hallways that have become familiar were suddenly full of people. After three weeks of training and prep work, it was powerful reminder of why we’re really here. We don’t know who we’ll be working with yet, but it was fun just to soak up that energy. There are so many cute and hilarious kids. My favorite moment was seeing a little girl who I met last week when her parents came to register her for school. We smiled, we waved, and I thought, “Hey, I know someone already!”

Forgive me if this post is a little sappy. I’m just so genuinely excited to start the school year. And where can you gush if not on your blog?

1 Comment

Filed under Real Life

One response to “Never Fear, Cute Little Kids Are Here

  1. Sheila

    Courtney,

    My favorite sentence here is that you are “ready for the main event.” That’s very cool. Keep on writing. Mom

Leave a Reply

