Back in the Stacks

The trouble with having a variety of interests is that you can’t indulge them all at once. For that reason, I tend to go on “kicks” with one thing or another. When I started this blog, I thought that I would be writing a fair amount about books. Instead I found myself on a lengthy movie kick. My latest ill-fated attempt to reread Emma is evidence that I just haven’t been in the reading frame of mind. Since I spend all day helping children learn how to read, it’s an ironic predicament.

Hopefully that will soon change. I got my Hennepin County Library card weeks ago, but I had yet to set foot in an actual library until today. I must admit, I was a bit of a library snob. The first branch I visited was so small that I drove to a different one before checking out books. The experience made me appreciate the Fargo Public Library, which is now absolutely beautiful in its new building. I like the feeling of being “lost in the stacks”, and the sites that I visited today seemed to be going for a more open floorplan.

But I digress. I can’t fault the second library because it had exactly the books I wanted. What are they, you ask? Well . . .

The Sixty-Eight Rooms, by Marianne Malone

This book was recommended to me by that intrepid professor of creative nonfiction Dennis Cass. It’s a children’s book about the Thorne Rooms at the Art Institute of Chicago that he found incredibly imaginative. Working at an elementary school, it seemed an appropriate choice.

An Abundance of Katherines, by John Green

Another recommendation, this time from my friend Jenny. I feel like John Green is someone who I’ve missed out on in the young adult scene. The premise is also intriguing: a neurotic high school graduate who has dated (and been dumped by) nineteen girls named Katherine.

Oryx and Crake, by Margaret Atwood

I’ve been wanting to read this book for years, literally. A post-apocalyptic love story by Margaret Atwood? You don’t have to tell me twice.

My vow, Gentle Readers, is this:  I will read these three books and review them on the blog. Coincidentally I picked out books for three different age groups, so it should make for an interesting time. Prepare to be English-major-ed in the not-too-distant future.

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “Back in the Stacks

  1. Mom

    You know how I dislike the Moorhead library for its location and set up. So I can relate to what you are saying. Shouldn’t matter but it kind of does! Mom

  2. Pingback: Meet Oryx and Crake | Courtney Coherent

Leave a Reply

