Things That Children Have Given Me

When you work at an elementary school, sometimes children give you things. Sometimes those things are very sweet, but they are usually also hilarious. Here’s a selection of “gifts” that I have received.

Sometimes kids give you things because they just want to get rid of them. It’s like handing something to your mom that you don’t want to carry anymore. Around Halloween I was walking past some kindergarteners who were packing up at the end of the day. A girl was clearly having trouble fitting this construction paper pumpkin into her already bulging backpack. Then she saw me, thrust the pumpkin into my hand, and said, “Here! I made this for you!”

In case you couldn’t tell from the hinge on his stomach, this is a ceramic Santa jewelery box! It was actually given to me by the student of another reading tutor. She and her sister very sweetly got presents for all the Reading Corps members. She told Sara, her tutor, that she liked my jewelery box better, but she couldn’t give it to Sara because she’s Jewish. Oh Christianity, always scoring me the best ceramics.

I was actually surprised by how few Valentines I got from my students. Kids usually get pretty pumped about various holidays, but I guess the Valentine love didn’t extend to reading teachers. I did, however, get this adorable homemade Valentine from one of my girls. I’m particularly fond of the imperfect use of pattern scissors. And not to brag or anything, but another girl gave me a mini-box of chocolates.

Here is another example of being in the right place at the right time. I was walking past some first graders packing up their backpacks. For no apparent reason, one of my former students handed me this beauty. I can only assume that he didn’t want it for himself, and thus decided to pawn it off on the first female passerby. Or else he strongly associates me with stickers, which is also possible. Sometimes the children seem to think that my sole purpose is to give them stickers.

Moral of the story? If you want to score some swag, work at an elementary school.

1 Comment

Filed under Real Life

One response to “Things That Children Have Given Me

  1. Mom

    A silly and sweet post! Gotta love those little ones. I think my favorite comment was “here I made this for you” when obviously she did not. Keep on with your writing! Mom

Leave a Reply

