3 Song Sampler: Patty Griffin

My blog is nearing its one-year anniversary, and I feel that it still has a lot of room to grow. With that goal in mind, I’m going to be experimenting with some different features in the upcoming months. That is, a type of post that I put out at regular intervals. I’ve been wanting to do a music feature for some time, and I finally landed on the 3 Song Sampler.

The idea of the 3 Song Sampler is to give a taste of a band or musician. Not necessarily their all-time best songs, but three songs that give an overview of what they can do. 3 Song Sampler will appear on Mondays, simply because Music Monday is alliterative. I’m kicking us off with one of my favorite musicians, the incomparable Patty Griffin.

1. “Rain”

If I had to describe Patty Griffin’s music in two words, they would be beautiful and devastating. She has one of the qualities that I must admire in an artist, which is the ability to transcend pain by turning it into something beautiful. “Rain” embodies this quality perfectly.

2. “No Bad News”

While Patty’s songs are often understated, she can really wail when she feels like it. Truth be told, I enjoy the loud voice just as much as the soft. Imagine her performing this song live, wearing red high heels and pounding on an acoustic guitar.

3. “Useless Desires”

Sometimes her songs can grow to epic proportions. The lyrics slowly unravel, and the music builds toward the final moment of catharsis. “Useless Desires” is bleak in its lyrical content, but somehow I always feel better after listening to it.

Patty Griffin is musical therapy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

