Working Girl Once Again

In June I was on a blogging roll. I hadn’t written that many posts in a month since — well, since last summer. July has returned to a slower pace, and perhaps you are wondering why. (Probably not, but humor me, won’t you?)

The reason is a happy one. Last week I started a new job! I’m working part-time for a national bookstore chain. (Surely you can’t guess which one.) Part of my plan for the next year was to get a retail job with flexible hours, and my dream scenario was getting to work with books. So far the new job is working out wonderfully. I was a little nervous about returning to a customer service job after a year in teaching, but those old habits are coming back easily. So although it pains me slightly to be working for the Man, at least I’m working for the Man who sells books. And gives me an employee discount on said books.

Working is definitely better for my overall well-being. It gives structure to my days and makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something. I should still have plenty of time for blogging and other creative projects. I just need to be a little more organized. It makes me glad that I added weekly features to the blog. They make consistency much easier.

The other big news in my life is that I’m moving to a new apartment at the end of the month. My roommates of the past year have returned to their home states, and I will be living with two friends from Carleton starting in August. The new apartment is lovely, as are the new roommates. It’s an exciting time!

3 Comments

Filed under Real Life

3 responses to “Working Girl Once Again

  1. LJS

    Congrats on your job and new apartment! Sounds like the perfect job for you, I hope you continue to enjoy it 🙂

  2. Mom

    Always enjoy your humor. And ha, I had noticed that your blogging output had slowed down! That’s real life, always getting in the way of the fun stuff. Mom

  3. Good for you, sounds like your life is full and keeping you happy. love to you.

Leave a Reply

