Gettin’ Crafty With It

The urge to be crafty does not always bring results. In fact, I would say that the majority of the time, I never get past the imagining stage. This week that changed, in a very small way. Perhaps it’s all that time spent reading A Beautiful Mess, but when I moved into my new apartment, I wanted to decorate it with some do-it-yourself projects.

While moving out of my old place, I found some glass jars in various sizes. A little voice in my head said, “Courtney, you can make these cute.”

I love polka dots — probably bordering on an unhealthy obsession. Inspired by other projects I had seen, I quickly developed a plan. All I needed was cheap black paint from the craft store. I also purchased a pack of sponges for the kitchen, and one was sacrificed on the altar of craftiness.

I cut out makeshift circle stamps in two sizes to match the different jars. Fifteen minutes later, I had some cute home decor. Right now the finished products are living on top of my black bookcase in the dining room.

Hopefully this will be the first of many DIY projects. The new apartment feels like a clean slate, and I want to make it beautiful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Real Life

Leave a Reply

