Read More for Four: October Report

This month saw a slowing down in Read More for Four. It’s so easy to get distracted in a world of wireless internet and Netflix. Still, I can’t blame Parks and Recreation for my failings. I also learned an important lesson, which is that if I don’t write a book review within a day of finishing the book, it probably won’t happen. The Snow Child deserves its own post, but all it gets is a quick recap.

Early in the month I finished reading The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey, a pioneer story inspired by a Russian fairy tale. In 1920 a middle-aged couple has left their East Coast life to homestead in Alaska. Jack and Mabel come to Alaska for a fresh start, but also to escape the disappointment of being childless. In a moment of playfulness, they sculpt a child out of snow. The next day a wild little girl emerges from the woods and changes their whole existence. It’s a story of resilience, friendship, and love that I warmly recommend.

Next came The Casual Vacancy, which took a lot of reading energy. I thought that I would cleanse my palette with a light young adult book, but instead I just read . . . nothing. Well, a fresh month means a fresh start. Luckily the zealousness of September means that I’m still on track to meet my goal! There are two exciting new releases coming this month, and I can’t wait to dive in.

Here’s a link to this month’s book review:  The Casual Vacancy.

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Read More for Four: October Report

  1. Pingback: Best of 2012: Book Edition, Part 2 | Courtney Coherent

Leave a Reply

