Read More for Four: November Report

Read More for Four Icon

Read More for Four is right on track. I rallied from the setbacks of October and found books that really grabbed my attention. If my November reading had a theme, it was espionage. Rather out of character for me, but that’s just how it worked out.

I kicked off the month with Mission to Paris by Alan Furst, set in the months leading up to the German occupation of France. Fredric Stahl is a European turned Hollywood actor who comes to Paris to film a movie. Unaware of the political warfare raging for the hearts and minds of French citizens, he finds himself of peculiar interest to Nazi supporters. A customer told me that Alan Furst is the best living writer of the spy novel. I’m always interested in a World War II story, so I decided to give it a try. Mission to Paris was easy to get through, but I didn’t think it was anything special. I most enjoyed the historical factoids sprinkled throughout the novel. The plot itself felt a bit formulaic.

My second dabble in espionage was much more satisfying. Sweet Tooth was everything that I hoped it would be and more. There was another book released in November that I’m anxious to read, but I’m still on the waiting list at the library. Hopefully it will come my way in December. Just two more books until I reach my goal! Should be a cinch, right?

Here’s a link to this month’s book review:  Sweet Tooth.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

