Read More for Four: The Wrap-Up

Read More for Four Icon

Gentle Readers, I apologize for keeping you in suspense! Yes, I’m sure there have been many sleepless nights wondering, “Did she read the last two books? Did she meet her goal?” The answer is yes!

Since I never completely fell off the reading wagon, it probably comes as no surprise that I met my Read More for Four goal. Eight books in four months was a very satisfying conclusion to the year. My first December book was Erik Larson’s In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin. Although it didn’t eclipse The Devil in the White City, it kept me interested by shining a light on a lesser known part of history. That is, the way that diplomats chose to deal with Hitler’s government in the 1930s. The issues weren’t considered as black-and-white as you might expect.

I ended the month on a delightful reading note. My name finally reached the top of the library waiting list, and I read Flame of Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier. The previous book in this series made it onto my best of 2012 list. I could easily have included either title, but I was still reading Flame when the time came for writing lists. Although I most often read realistic fiction, I’m glad that certain writers can inspire me to branch out. The Sevenwaters series fulfills my occasional desire for escapism reading while giving me characters that I really love.

Read More for Four helped me match the number of books I read last year. As previously mentioned, I keep track of my reading on a website called Good Reads. However, the site provides more stats than just number of books read. It also tallies the number of pages read each year. By that measure, 2012 trounced 2011 by more than 1,000 pages! 

Of course, all these statistics aren’t the point of reading. It’s just fun to challenge myself now and then. I never regret time spent with a book, and two new books per month was a nice pace. I’m hoping to continue it in 2013 — with less obsessive documentation on the blog. As always, happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

