This Is What Excites Me

In the world of art and pop culture, sometimes when it rains, it pours. That’s exactly how I feel when looking ahead to the next few months. There’s so much being released that I can’t wait to see, hear, and read. And what exactly has me so excited?

New Imogen Heap album on August 18! 

Sparks Cover

Seriously, you guys, this has been five years in the making. Sparks was originally scheduled for release on March 3, but was delayed by the label for unspecified reasons. Now Imogen is releasing it through her own label, much to my relief. This woman has been a favorite of mine for years. After watching the making-of documentary for her last album, I marveled at the way her creativity seems to reach out in every direction. Can’t wait to see what she has in store this time.

Scandals of Classic Hollywood book on September 30!

Scandals Cover

Anne Helen Petersen and her Scandals of Classic Hollywood posts were a huge inspiration for my Craving Classic Hollywood series this winter. While rediscovering her greatness, I came across the news that she was writing a book. Come September, the wait will be over! The author promises all-new scandals, and one can only assume that witty commentary and luscious black-and-white photos are part of the package.

The Gone Girl movie on October 3!

Gone Girl Still

This might be more excitement than I can take in one week. My obsession with all things Gillian Flynn is well-documented, and I think this story will make an amazing film. I have an eternal soft spot for Ben Affleck, and Rosamund Pike is an inspired choice for Amy. I’ve seen her in several roles, but she’s a fairly unknown entity to American audiences, which makes her kind of perfect to play Amy. And could there be a more ideal director for this project than David Fincher? I admired him for The Social Network, but a recent viewing of Zodiac proved that the man is a master of foreboding. Honestly, I haven’t anticipated a film adaptation this much in years.

I could go on, but you get the idea. What’s life without something to look forward to?

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Movies, Music

One response to “This Is What Excites Me

  1. Pingback: Scandals of Classic Hollywood, Now in Book Form | Courtney Coherent

Leave a Reply

