Return of the Stitch Fix

I know, I know. I said I was taking a break from Stitch Fix. But then some lovely friends used my referral link, which resulted in referral credits to put toward my next Fix. Yes, the brains behind Stitch Fix are a clever bunch. Still yearning for some new summer tops, I learned from my last Fix to be specific about what I want. In this case, no pants and nothing longer than a short sleeve.

In an attempt to spice up this photo shoot, I picked a book to go with each outfit. The results may be more awkward than spicy, but at least I didn’t whip out the big sunglasses again. As always, Katie was my intrepid photographer.

1. Renee C Tibbie Split-Back Mixed Print Blouse

Summer 2014 023

The first thing I noticed about this blouse was the vibrant colors. The second was its tent-like proportions. You can’t really tell in this photo, but from the side I could easily be hiding a baby bump. Apparently my eternal struggle with Stitch Fix will be loose-fitted tops. This seems to be an issue of my disliking something that’s a very popular trend at the moment. It was clear that this top and I were not meant to be.

(The book: Being Peace by Thich Nhat Hanh)

2. Sweet Rain Tyra V-Neck Chevron Print Blouse

Summer 2014 051

What’s this? A loose summer top with an adorable print that’s still fitted enough to be flattering? In my last Fix I was in love with the color of the mint green polka dot blouse, and this top is a similar shade while being mercifully sleeveless. In the next photo you can see more of the cute details, like the tabs at the shoulders. On the very day I received this Fix, I cut the tags off this shirt and wore it on a night out. I just knew it was a winner.

(The book: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell)

3. Bella Boutique Filbert Delicate Loop Lariat Necklace

Summer 2014 040

I should probably just change my style profile to say that I don’t want accessories. Although this necklace is pretty enough, I know how bad I would be about wearing it, so I can’t justify the expense.

4. Ezra Crista 3/4 Sleeve Lace Knit Shirt

Summer 2014 036

I was slightly perturbed to see the sleeves on this shirt. Even going outside for a few minutes to take photos, I felt overheated. The shirt itself has a cool look, but I would worry about ruining the fabric. There’s also an exposed zipper in the back, which adds a noticeable weight to the otherwise light material. Another one that wasn’t meant to be.

(The book: Selected Poems by E. E. Cummings)

5. Collective Concepts Lise Floral Fit & Flare Dress

Summer 2014 064

Katie and I may have been getting silly by this point in the photo shoot. “What else can you do with a book? Balance it on your head!” Anyway, when I saw this dress, I knew it would be a tough decision. The style is obviously a favorite, and the bright blue on navy is gorgeous. Unfortunately there were a few minor problems with the fit. The back felt a little tight, and there was an inner seam at the waist that kept hitting right at my ribcage. My practicality took over. If it’s not just right, I don’t need another dress.

(The book: The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood)

Maybe this time I will actually take a break. But I still have a referral credit to burn, so I’m not promising anything!

Want to learn more about Stitch Fix or perhaps even schedule a Fix for yourself? Here’s my referral link!

1 Comment

Filed under Real Life

One response to “Return of the Stitch Fix

  1. Mom

    Good choice, I love the one you kept. In the photos you can’t really see how tent-y the first one is. i love those colors on you too!! Looks like a lot of fun. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

