Reading Roundup 2014

Summer 2014 008

For the second year in a row, I set a reading goal of 24 books. And for the second year in a row, I read 24 books! As an avid Good Reads user, I see the goals that other people make, and they are often aiming for 50 or 100 books. Even factoring in people who read a lot of graphic novels or children’s books, which are typically quick reads, those numbers seem far loftier than mine. That doesn’t particularly bother me though because: a) reading isn’t a competition, and b) I know that I’m a surprisingly slow reader, and c) I want to leave myself time for other interests. I can benefit more from reading 24 books thoughtfully.

But a funny thing happened on the way to 24 this year. While refocusing myself as a reader, I’ve come across a lot of wonderful books, and there are few greater pleasures for me than rereading a great book. Rereading is also my favorite kind of writing workshop. Keeping up with a two-books-per-month pace leaves time for a few rereads, but not as many as I would like. So for 2015, I’m shaking things up. My goal will be 20 new books, plus rereading some of my new favorites and seeing what they have to teach me.

You may be wondering why I can’t just count the rereads toward my overall total. Well, I could, but I choose not to do so. I keep track of my yearly goal through the Reading Challenge on Good Reads, and the way the website functions, only new books are added to the total. I’ve heard of people tricking the system by adding a different edition of the book when they reread it, but the idea of cluttering up my online library with multiple editions of the same book is unappealing to me. (Wow, I sound neurotic.) So instead I choose to lower my goal for the year in order to accommodate rereads on the side.

As I revisit the works of Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Gillian Flynn, I may post my musings on the blog. After all, writing is probably the best way to process ideas. I wish you all a happy year of reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

