East Coast Adventure: Boston

After years of my friend Amy visiting Minneapolis, I finally felt financially capable of returning the favor. My roommate Katie joined me so that she could see Amy and visit her sister at college. I was excited to spend time with my friend and experience the place where she’s been living for the past three years. And I’ll admit, I was also excited to take lots of photos. I’ve become a less frequent photographer of late, and that’s probably because I’ve been living in the same city for almost four years. New environments are always inspiring!

I considered just sharing my photos through a series of Photo Friday posts, but I have thoughts to share as well as photos. So here we go.

Spring 2015 014State Library, BostonBoston Common

Amy lives in Providence, Rhode Island, but Katie and I flew into Boston. I wanted to spend a little time in Boston because, well, I’ve never been there. I’ve always had a strange affinity for Bostonian accents, actors, and movies, so it was basically a requirement. One bus and a subway ride brought us into the city. In fact, we emerged right on the edge of Boston Common. I had an immediate sense of being somewhere else.

Granary Burying Ground Granary Burying Ground

My inner nerd was begging to find historical sites. There was a group of high school students led by a man in a tricorne hat, and we may have followed them to the Granary Burying Ground. Costumed tour guides turned out to be very useful for catching snippets of information throughout the graveyard. It’s the resting place of Paul Revere, as well as Benjamin Franklin’s parents, which makes the huge Franklin obelisk a bit misleading. (Ben himself is buried in Philadelphia.)

Old State House, Boston Spring 2015 032

Our main challenge in Boston was that we were still carrying our luggage. Taking advantage of the opportunity was worth a little hassle, but let’s just say I didn’t feel guilty about missing the gym on this trip. We also saw the Old State House, adorned with a golden lion and unicorn, from where the Declaration of Independence was first read. For a Midwesterner, it was odd to see these historical sites butting up against a modern city. Although I appreciated visiting them, there was no real feeling of “going back in time.” Still, I only experienced a small sliver of Boston and would love to go back someday.

Tomorrow we travel to Cambridge!

2 Comments

Filed under Photography, Real Life

2 responses to “East Coast Adventure: Boston

Leave a Reply

