I’m Going to NerdCon!

I’ve always wanted to go to a convention. Since I don’t have unlimited funds for traveling to southern California for VidCon or ComicCon, I didn’t know if I ever would. Then Hank Green, brother of John and founder of VidCon, decided to try out some smaller conventions with more specific themes. And where would the first one take place? In my very own Minneapolis! Even without travel and hotel expenses, I quibbled about the ticket price. That is, until I got a nice reward from work that was the exact amount of a ticket.

NerdCon: Stories is basically the perfect convention for me to attend. The guests are storytellers, many of them authors, but other media is also represented. If I were to list my top five young adult authors, all but one of them will be at NerdCon. I’m talking about Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Stephanie Perkins, and Maureen Johnson. The only person missing is my girl Sarah Dessen, but it feels like an embarrassment of riches already. The convention is two days of discussion panels, signings, and mainstage shows. When I looked over the schedule, it was surprisingly easy to decide what I want to do during each time slot. There’s also a vendor room that I’m excited to peruse. Hopefully I go home with some books and nerdy merchandise.

I haven’t been this excited about an event in quite some time. My only concern is that my introverted side will come to the forefront and be bothered by the crowds. However, I’m determined to fully enjoy this experience. This crowd is nothing compared to VidCon, for instance, and the tickets haven’t even sold out yet. I plan to come prepared with headphones and reading material for times when I need to wait in line. In a lovely turn of events, Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On comes out the week of the convention, so I may be reading that unless I devour it in three days. Either way, if all goes according to plan, the book will be christened with the author’s signature.

I’m planning to take photos and blog about the convention obviously. I just wanted to provide an introduction and share my excitement. NerdCon is a week from Friday!

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Real Life

2 responses to “I’m Going to NerdCon!

  1. Mom

    I predict that you will love it!

  2. Ken Carpenter

    Have a great time at the convention. Bet you will really enjoy it. Have a good weekend with Mom.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

